Chinese Mainland Signs New Aviation Transportation MOU With Macau

The Civil Aviation Administration of China has signed a new memorandum of understanding with Civil Aviation Authority of Macau, lifting part of the restrictions on airline designation and capacity with the aim of promoting the air markets of the Chinese mainland and Macau.

Yang Guoqing, deputy director of CAAC, says that the central government will continue to support Macau's aviation industry and give a full consideration of all proposals put forward by Macau.

According to local media, CAAC believes that with the rapid development of China's national economy and the opportunities brought by Macau's economic growth, there will be a lot of potential for the air transport sector of the two regions.

According to the previous MOU signed in December 2006, the number of mainland destinations open for air transport operation with Macao was 57, and certain restrictions were imposed on the designation of airlines and the capacity. Under the new MOU, the number of destinations is still 57, but the restrictions imposed on airline designation and capacity are partially lifted.

At present, Macau runs air services to 12 Chinese mainland cities: Beijing, Chengdu, Fuzhou, Guilin, Kunming, Hangzhou, Nanjing, Shanghai, Xiamen, Wuhan, Tianjin, and Wuxi. These services are operated by six airlines: Air Macau, Xiamen Airlines, Shanghai Airliens, China Eastern, East Star Airlines, and Shenzhen Airlines.