OEAED Member Cities Sign Qingdao Declaration For Tourism Cooperation

At the fifth annual meeting of The Organization for the East Asia Economic Development Tourism Branch held in Qingdao, China, the ten member cities of OEAED signed the Qingdao Declaration to enhance cooperation in tourism, and to enlarge the scale of cruise tourism between the ten cities.

The OEAED Tourism Branch was founded in Pusan, South Korea on September 30, 2005. The ten member cities are Tianjin, Dalian, Qingdao, and Yantai in China; Fukuoka, Kitakyushu, and Shimonoseki in Japan; and Pusan, Incheon, and Ulsan in South Korea.

According to the Qingdao Declaration, cruise routes will be developed between the ten tourist cities since they are all port cities. Tourists will be able to reach the other nine cities on cruises from any one of the cities.

Tourism enterprises of the ten cities have conducted several cooperation programs. The OEAED Tourism Branch will collaborate with local governments to build a platform for cooperation between tourism enterprises.