Joint Declaration To Boost East Asian Tourism

A joint declaration, "China-Japan-South Korea Joint Declaration on Tourism Exchanges", was made by China, Japan, and South Korea to promote the development of the East Asian tourism industry at the close of the Fourth China-Japan-South Korea Tourism Ministers Conference which was held in Japan.

To assure tourists a safe and secure tourism environment, the three parties will collaborate on information exchange about swine flu and offering medical assistance to tourists.

Concerning the resumption of international tourism exchanges, the 2010 Shanghai Expo provides a good opportunity for promoting tourism to the three countries. In addition, the three parties will implement policies to simplify tourist visa procedures and shorten the waiting time to get visas.

The conference was opened in Nagoya, Japan and closed in Gifu. The fifth conference will be held in 2010 in China.