Hungary Opens Consulate General In Chongqing

The Republic of Hungary has opened a consulate-general in Chongqing, making it the seventh consulate in Chongqing following those of the UK, Canada, Japan, Denmark, Cambodia, and the Philippines.

It is the second Hungarian consulate-general in China, and Hungary is the first Eastern European country to set up a consulate in Chongqing.

This new consulate-general covers western China including Chongqing, Sichuan, Yunnan, Guizhou, Shaanxi, and Gansu. It is planned to set up a visa center in Chongqing which is expected to open after the 2010 Spring Festival, or, at the latest in the summer of 2010.

Hungary is a signatory of the Schengen Agreement. If tourists obtain a Hungarian visa, they can visit other any other countries that are signatories of the Schengen Agreement without having to apply for a separate visa. The Schengen countries are: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland